Lecture and Dedication of the Hyllberg Collection on Women in Ministry and Leadership, October 6, 2 p.m.

You are invited to attend the Dedication of the Hyllberg Collection on Women in Ministry and Leadership and a lecture entitled, “The Future of Women Leaders in the Assemblies of God,” presented by Dr. Deborah Gill, Professor of Biblical Studies and Exposition.

This special event will be held during Homecoming in the AGTS Seymour Chapel on Friday, October 6, 2-3:30 p.m. Attendance at Homecoming is not required to attend this event, and a reception will immediately follow.

The Hyllberg Collection, located in the Barnett Library, Room 232-C, will be open so guests can view the new collection. The Hyllberg Collection was made possible due to the personal donations by Dr. Deborah Gill and Dr. Barbara Parks and the generosity of the Hyllberg Fund, which provided the furnishings in the room.

Lecture available via live streaming on the day of the event.

J. Philip Hogan Chair for World Missions Lectureship: October 9, 11, 13

AGTS will present the J. Philip Hogan Chair for World Missions lectureship series on October 9, 11, and 13 at 2 p.m. each day.

Dr. Mark Flattery will be inaugurated as the 2017-2018 Hogan Chair Professor on October 9. The topic of the lectureship series is Network211: A Prototype for 21st Century Global Evangelism and Discipleship. The lecture titles are:

  • Lecture One: “The Theological Values of Network211”
  • Lecture Two: “The Missiological Strategies of Network211”
  • Lecture Three: “The Global Ministry of Network211”

Dr. Flattery serves as an AGWM missionary and President of Network211, a ministry that uses 21st century tools to communicate the 1st century Gospel. The vision is to reach everyone, everywhere with the Gospel.  The mission is to present the Good News online to 100 million people worldwide, provide online discipleship, empower local churches to use the Internet, and to help believers share life.

The J. Philip Hogan Chair of World Missions at AGTS is an endowed professorship that honors the missionary leadership of this distinguished former Executive Director of Assemblies of God World Missions. As a partnership between AGTS and AGWM, it calls on today’s missionaries and scholars to continue the heritage of thoughtful, incisive, and Spirit-led missiology that Brother Hogan’s ministry left us. A leading missiologist will be invited annually to fill the chair in order to explore new dimensions in missiology through teaching, research, and writing. Special thanks are due to AGWM, the Hyllberg Memorial Fund, J. Philip and Virginia Hogan, and others who have contributed to the endowment of the Chair.

All lectures will be available via live streaming on the days of the events.

Day of Renewal 2017

You are invited!

Join the AGTS Community as we set aside the day to seek the Lord.

Services times:

9:30 a.m.; 1:30 p.m.; and 6 p.m.

Location: AGTS Seymour Chapel


Special guest speaker: Pastor John Bates, Freedom Fellowship International in Waxahachie, TX

Childcare provided for the 6 p.m. service

Clark Award: Dr. Jim Railey awarded Evangel’s highest honor for academic excellence

Dr. Jim Railey is the 2017 recipient of Evangel University’s top honor for faculty — the E.M. & Estella Clark Award for Excellence in Teaching, Scholarship and Service.

The Clark Award includes a cash grant and was presented on May 5, during Evangel’s 59th Annual Commencement ceremony.

Railey has been a professor of theology at Assemblies of God Theological Seminary since 1991. In addition to his teaching responsibilities, Railey serves as vice president/dean of the seminary, its top leadership position under Evangel University.

New COGIC Leader is Graduate of CBC and AGTS

Bishop Lemuel F. Thuston, a graduate of Central Bible College (1979) and the Assemblies of God Theological Seminary (1981), was elected at the 109th annual Holy Convocation last November to serve as Chairman of the General Assembly of the Church of God in Christ (COGIC).