Assemblies of God Theological Seminary Search | Contact Us | Site Map | What's New? | Bienvenido a AGTS!
Degree Programs How to Fund my Education

Driving Directions
What We Believe
Mission & Objectives
Staff, Administration,
Board of Directors

Exchange Program
Financial Information
About Springfield
Student Life


Entrance to AGTS when it was located in the A/G headquarters building.
August 1961

Concept of a graduate school approved by the General Council of the Assemblies of God.

Cordas C. Burnett reviewing the remodeling plans for the AGTS floors in the A/G headquarters building.
August 1971
General Presbytery decided to implement the graduate school.
Alumnus and current AGTS Professor Roger Cotton studying in the old AGTS library.
May 1972
General Presbytery adopted a preliminary constitution and bylaws and authorization establishing the school at the International Headquarters in Springfield, Missouri.

August 1972

Cordas C. Burnett elected executive vice president. He asked the Lord to give him three years to establish the seminary on a firm foundation. He died in August of 1975.
 Cordas C. Burnett (left) and Thomas F. Zimmerman (right)
December 1972
School was incorporated. The Executive Presbytery was authorized to serve as Board of Directors of the Assemblies of God Graduate School. Thomas F. Zimmerman, general superintendent, was elected to serve as president.
  June 1973 Foreign missionaries and candidates were the first students to enroll in classes during the summer.
One of the first classes at AGTS.
September 1973
School opened its doors
A graduating class.
School first accredited by The Higher Learning Commission (HLC) and a member of the North Central Association, the regional accrediting agency of the North Central states.
Sudents sitting outside the A/G headquarters building.
August 1984
School renamed the Assemblies of God Theological Seminary.
G. Raymond Carlson
December 1985
Dr. G. Raymond Carlson, General Superintendent, was appointed president.
H. Glynn Hall
Dr. H. Glynn Hall appointed president.
Del Tarr
June 1990
Dr. Del Tarr appointed president.
1991 Board of Directors
First accredited by The Association of Theological Schools (ATS) in the United States and Canada.
Capital Campaign completed. $6.1 million raised in pledges.
Del Tarr breaking ground for the new AGTS building.
March 1996
Ground breaking on property adjacent to Evangel University. Made possible in large part to a $1,000,000 donation from Michael and Frances Cardone, Sr.
Del Tarr at the dedication of the new building.
July 1997
AGTS moves to new facility on Glenstone Avenue.
Fall 1997
First doctoral degree in Assemblies of God U.S. offered (Doctor of Ministry).
Byron D. Klaus
July 1999
Dr. Byron D. Klaus appointed president.
Fall 2000
AGTS is given adjacent property (the old O'Reilly Gym) on the corner of Glenstone and Division.
  2001   Ten-year accreditation received from HLC and ATS.
  June 2001   First D.Min. degrees granted.
2004   First issue of online Encounter Journal and first book in the Encounter Journal Series published, He Gave Apostles: Apostolic Ministry in the 21st Century.
  2005   First online class.
  2006   J. Philip Hogan Chair of World Missions established
  June 2007   First Doctor of Missiology cohort meets.
July 2009
  First Ph.D. in the AG launched (Ph.D. in Intercultural Studies).

Updated: Thursday, December 3, 2009 12:42 PM

1.800.467.AGTS • 1.800.467.2487 • Fax: 417.268.1001 • agts@agts.edu1435 N. Glenstone Ave., Springfield, Mo. 65802
Copyright © AGTS. All rights reserved. AGTS Website Policies: Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Linkage Disclaimer